Apple Blossoms, meditation cushions and the mothers of mothers

16 04 2010

In that order.

First, the apple blossoms are out!  What a wonderful smell that fills the earth when it is apple blossom season.  Two blocks from our house, on the walk downtown, there is a HUGE apple tree that has birthed a couple babies around it and it is springing with apple blossoms. 

I know that each blossom could yield a fruit, so I sparingly plucked one sprig for the glorious scent.  I couldn’t resist.  It is so sweet, so subtle, yet strong and slightly spicy in the right air.  Currently, it is hanging out on my table with some other deliciously scented freesia flowers.  I also picked one magnolia flower, which wilted promptly.  What a bouquet filling our house.

Now, I am not quite sure, but I think that the apple blossoms are early, as are the magnolias.  I wonder what this 25C weather is doing to the cycles of our ecosystem.  I try not to think of it, and instead, make meditation cushions.

Today, I put together the meditation cushion with the OM symbol and stuffed it.  I also went on an embroidering frenzy and finished little A’s cushion.  I am really happy with the results and with the learning process.  I used several new stitches (to me) like whipped back stitch, split stitch and whipped stem stitch.  I must say that I love whipped stitches, and the nice line and colouration that it gives.  That is what I used in the outlines of the leaves and the flower petals.

Here is little A with her new meditation cushion:

And here is a close up of the meditation cushion embroidery.  I left the pink flower unfilled because I thought it looked really good that way.  What do you think?

Another thing that has been on my mind is my mother.  She has, yet again, requested to be my friend on facebook.  She is not currently aware of this blog either.

I am generally not a secretive person, nor do I like to censor myself.  However, over the last 12 years or so of interacting with my mother, I’ve found it useful for our relationship to just omit certain aspects of my life that I know really upset her.

I really want to respect her wishes, but sometimes they just go against what I know to be best for me, or what my ideals are.  I really would love to have a completely open relationship with her where I can be the whole of myself, but that just ends up with us not being able to be around each other.  I don’t really want that.

I respect my mother, what she has done for me in raising me, that she cares about me and that she is a really wonderful, loving and creative person.  I just don’t want to unnecessarily worry her.

I often wonder why our spirits choose the parents they do.  Why did I choose my mother, if we’re going to have such tenuous relations?  I remember seeing a really powerful channel at the Total Health Show in Toronto, when I was pregnant.  She traveled the astral realms, channeled quite clearly and was consciously and sensorily experiencing many more layers of reality than most.  She said that before August 2006 we were in a place of opposites attracting each other, and that explained why a lot of people were being born to the families they were born into.

I’m not sure that this is exactly the case, because in some ways I am definitely my mother’s daughter.  However, in some ways, we are complete opposites.

I find my relationship with my mother to be one of the most interesting, frustrating, educational and strange relationships in my life.  I find it simultaneously supportive and open and incredibly stifling and judgmental.  I’m sure I’m not the only one.

Anyways, I think that I will keep my mother off my facebook account for now.  I think it will be best for both of us.  She might stumble upon this blog as well, and I’ll just have to deal with that when it comes to pass.  For now, for both of our sanity, we will keep our online lives separate.

Actions

Information

One response

17 04 2010
Sheila Pratt

Hi Meme,

What a gorgeous embroidery job you did on little A’s cushion. You have artistic talent, for sure.

A. looks like such a pretty little girl. Her face has changed so much, from baby to toddler. You are obviously doing a wonderful job with her, after seeing her happy smile.

Blessings on this blog. I will try to drop in when I can.

Keep up you good work, my little soul sister.

Love you,

Sheila

xoxoox

Leave a Reply

