Community craft day

10 04 2010

Today was a craft day in my basement, in preparation for the neighbourhood parade E and I are organizing.

It started when I was at a psytrance party a couple months ago: the first I had gone to since I birthed.  Someone there asked about the “next party” and whether or not there was a parade planned.  I thought “WOW! I love parades! I need more of them in my life!”

So, being the person that I am, I decided to consult E and see if she, too, loved parades and wanted to help organize one.  And, of course, she did!  So started the process of organizing the first parade for our neighbourhood: April 25th.  Of course, I didn’t take into account the fact that I was moving in a week, or the fact that I have about three thousand other things on my plate.  Parade’s are important things you know?

We wanted to do some craft days, to get the kids involved and helping create the experience.  So, we decided on some dates, put them out there and thought that whatever came of them was fine.

Today was the day of the craft day and it was great!  Not too many families showed up (in fact, only one outside E and my families), but we got a lot of painting done and had a ton of fun!

We painted a big banner that will be at the front of the parade:

and many shakers that E made before hand:

as well as some fun creature shapes which will be mounted on sticks for the day of the parade:

Little A got covered head to toe, literally, in paint as she refused to wear pants for the experience. The end result was a very messy bathtub and a semi-clean child. 🙂

One of the little girls who came, Juliet, made a sign that said “Come and Join our Parade!”, which I thought was lovely.

I am excited to see what comes of this parade.  I feel like it will be more than just E and my family for the actual date as some of the other parents didn’t understand why we would have craft days in advance.  (The answer, of course, is that it’s FUN!  They’ll catch on some day).  Some people are decorating their bikes (I have heard) and others making floats.

E and I are making costumes for ourselves and our children (ears, tails and wings are in order, I feel!).

Doing fun things in community is always a wonderful experience, even if it’s only a few people.  Everyone who participates will remember doing so.  It’s a way for people who may not have much in common to come together in celebration and joy.  It gives a sense of security to, not only know your neighbours, but play with them too!

I’m hoping that this will give some adults an excuse to play around, something that is needed more in “adult” life.  I’m hoping that it will be something we can do, if not seasonally, than annually.

I LOVE parades!

Actions

Information

2 responses

10 04 2010
sarah g.

please, if you can squeeze it in, come to the Procession of the species in Kitchener on Saturday, the 24th: http://www.kwprocession.ca

11 04 2010
mamameme

unfortunately, i can’t make it as I’m doing child care that day. sounds like it will be fun and powerful though!

Leave a Reply

