A neck, a bag, a pillow

9 04 2010

Last night I fell asleep quite deeply, as little A had woken up while I was at yoga and fallen back asleep in her daddy’s bed.  When her daddy brought her to me in the middle of the night, I was quite disoriented.  At some point, she was cuddled up to me, pinning my arm to the bed.  I rolled over quite forcefully and pulled something in my neck.  OUCH!

Today was my day “baby-free”.  On these days, I usually go to yoga in the morning, eat a nice lunch and journal in cafes until I’m ready to journey home.

Today, however, I lay in bed contemplating the necessary actions to get out of bed, without being in distracting pain.  I lay in bed until 11 am, passing in and out of dream time.  So, it seems my body needed the rest and took it.  Bodies are so wise.

I got up and was unable to move my neck to the right, at all.  I’m happy to report that now, with much icing, some massage and stretching, I can move it slightly to the right! Progress!

So, I decided to do things that wouldn’t involve moving my neck to the right very much.  One of the things I decided to do was sew a yoga mat bag as, my sewing machine is more geared towards the left hand side of my head and, I really need a yoga mat bag.

I picked up a piece of fabric from the Bibles for Missions thrift store a while back for $1.50 and didn’t know what I would make with it.  It’s black with spirally white seashells and starfish.  It turns out it was the perfect size to make a yoga bag out of.

I decided to go with a drawstring bag as I didn’t have a zipper and wanted the bag to be easy to sew.  So, I found this pattern and decided to go with it.

It turns out that yoga bags are incredibly easy to sew!! However, before I could get to the easy part of sewing, I had to go through a half hour of frustration with my bobbin thread continuously getting tangled.  I tried just about everything: rethreading the bobbin, rethreading the needle, changing the thread for a thinner thread, talking nicely to the machine (“please Stella, what is it that you need?  Let’s work together baby.”) etc etc.

In the end, the machine was getting stuck on a pin head. (insert one of those forehead slapping emoticons here) Luckily, that’s pretty easy to fix.  So, once the silly frustration was over, I sewed the entire bag in about an hour.  I didn’t photo-document the process this time, because, well, I just didn’t remember to until it was mostly finished.

Here is what it looks like sitting on the only piece of clear floor space in our house (the rest is covered with building sticks that little A has lovingly stewn about the house “Me love me stick mess mama.”).

Not surprisingly, the yoga bag is now filled with much of the stick mess.  The yoga mat is lying on Chris’ office floor, unrolled and enjoying itself there.

After the bag, I iced my neck more, walked the dog (in the snow!), and decided to finish off my embroidery.  Have I mentioned that I LOVE embroidery?  Well, I do. Everyday (though it’s only been three days) I love it more.  I can take it anywhere with me.  I can do it when I have a few minutes to sit down and relax while little A is off doing something by herself.  It’s a great replacement for zoning out on Facebook or YouTube, which are both activities I engage in when I have ten minutes to sit down, but don’t want to do anything that requires me to “think” too much.

Embroidery requires concentration, but in the most delightful way.  I use it as a mindfulness practice, as well as a meditation.  I can easily view my thoughts and how they reflect in my work.  It is a physical manifestation of the steadiness of my mind.

Here is the picture of the finished design, my first embroidery project!!

I was really tempted to completely undo the first day’s work and try to redo it so that it looked nicer.  However, after reading that this would probably destroy the piece, I decided to keep it as a memento of where I started.

Actions

Information

3 responses

10 04 2010
Sarah Christina

It’s so beautiful! Both the bag and the embroidary! Good show! ^^
And I hope your neck is better! ❤

10 04 2010
Sheila Pratt

Just lucked into your blog. Love it! Writing is sooooo civilized, Meme! Great job, and your craftwomanship is lovely, as well. I see $ in those Yoga mat bags, with a bit of embroidery, perhaps the initials? xoxoxo

10 04 2010
mamameme

Thanks sheila! I think that there is money on the bags too. I just have to gain more proficiency at sewing to make it better quality. 🙂

Leave a Reply

